Cookies

Like most websites The Analytical Scientist uses cookies. In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service and to improve the site, we remember and store information about how you use it. Learn more.
Fields & Applications Materials

Reference Materials: An Introduction to Quality & its Importance in Reference Standard Selection and Use

sponsored by Merck

View on demand

Thursday, June 18, 2020
11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST


Reference materials are a critical component of the laboratory’s quality system. From calibration of measurement systems to validation of methods, reference materials ensure accuracy in testing. Different terminologies between pharmaceutical (compendial) and non-pharmaceutical (ISO) reference materials can lead to confusion in determining the best fit-for-purpose reference, potentially impacting accuracy of the testing method. In this presentation, important concepts from metrological traceability, SI unit of measurement and certificate of analysis will be discussed along with the different quality grades of reference materials and how selection of the proper quality grade can ensure optimal fit-for-purpose and testing accuracy. Traceability, certification, stability, and workflow application examples will be provided.

Learning Objectives

  • Understand important terms and concepts, such as metrological traceability, certificates of analysis, stability, and reference material certification techniques
  • Recognize the different quality grades & formats of reference materials and their intended uses to establish proper selection criteria for use in a testing application
  • Appreciate the impact of measurement errors due to improper selection of the reference material quality grade or poor fit-for-purpose

View on demand

Enjoy our FREE content!

Log in or register to gain full unlimited access to all content on the The Analytical Scientist site. It’s FREE!

Login

Or register now - it’s free!

You will benefit from:

  • Unlimited access to ALL articles
  • News, interviews & opinions from leading industry experts
  • Receive print (and PDF) copies of The Analytical Scientist magazine

When you click “Register” we will email you a link, which you must click to verify the email address above and activate your account. If you do not receive this email, please contact us at [email protected].

Register to The Analytical Scientist

Register to access our FREE online portfolio, request the magazine in print and manage your preferences.

You will benefit from:

  • Unlimited access to ALL articles
  • News, interviews & opinions from leading industry experts
  • Receive print (and PDF) copies of The Analytical Scientist magazine

Register